Aero100 Weekend

Relive the Centennial Celebration

(Click the link above to view the recorded panel discussions and presentations)

Schedule of Events

DAY 1: THURSDAY, SEPTEMBER 18 – Boeing Lecture Hall, FXB Building

  • 9:30 am–11:00 am: Peach Mountain Tour CLOSED
  • 12:00 pm–1:00 pm: Lunch
  • 1:00 pm–2:20 pm: Panel on the Future of Aerospace  Academics and Research
  • 2:35 pm–4:00 pm: Women of Aerospace
  • 4:00 pm–5:00 pm: Tours of Aerospace Laboratories
  • 6:30 pm: Alumni Reunion Reception & Dinner (UMMA /Michigan Union Ballroom)

DAY 2: FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 19 – Michigan League, Ballroom

  • 8:30 am–10:00 am: Registration, Continental Breakfast, Student Posters, Networking
  • 10:00 am–11:10 pm: Panel on Future of the Aircraft
  • 11:15–12:30 pm: Lunch
  • 12:30 pm–1:50 pm: Panel on the Future of Space Exploration and Use
  • 2:10 pm–3:15 pm: Panel on Green Aviation
  • 3:15 pm–4:15 pm: Keynote Lecture: “Kelly’s Legacy: The Skunk Works® Today,” Al Romig, VP, Skunk Works LMCO
  • 6:30 pm: Gala Dinner and Recognition Awards (Yankee Air Museum/Willow Run) CLOSED


  • 1:30 pm Tailgate CLOSED
  • 3:30 pm Michigan vs. Utah Football Game (Golf Course)



Honorable Speakers and Panelists

  • Paul Adams, President, Pratt & Whitney (BSE AERO ’83)
  • Karen A. Albrecht, CEO, Karen Albrecht Enterprises (BSE AERO ’72)
  • Mike J. Benzakein, Director, Executive Partnerships in Aerospace, Aviation and Flight, The Ohio State University
  • Sanjay M. Correa, Vice President, GE Aviation (BSE AERO ’77, MSE ’79, PhD ’81)
  • Eric Dautriat, Executive Director, Clean Sky Joint Undertaking
  • Frank DeMauro, Vice President and Program Director, CRS Program, Orbital
  • Jennifer Leib Duke, Director of Aerodynamics, Pratt & Whitney (BSE AERO ’92)
  • Alec D. Gallimore, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, Aerospace Engineering
  • Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
  • Earl H. Dowell, Professor and Chair Mechanical Engineering Department, Duke University
  • Dr. Alan Epstein, Vice President, Technology and Environment, Pratt & Whitney
  • Charbel Farhat, Professor, Stanford University
  • Beverly Goulet, Senior Vice President and Chief Integration Officer, American Airlines (AB History ’76, JD ’79)
  • Lauri N. Hansen, Director, Engineering, NASA Johnson Space Center (BSE AERO ’85)
  • Abe Karem, President, Karem Aircraft, Inc.
  • Derek J. Kerr, CFO, American Airlines (BSE AERO ’86, MBA ’91)
  • Debra Facktor Lepore, Vice President and General Manager, Strategic Operations, Ball Aerospace & Technologies Corp (BSE AERO ’88, MSE ’89)
  • Dr. Sandra H. Magnus, Executive Director, American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
  • Robert E. Meyerson, President and Program Manager, Blue Origin, LLC (BSE AERO ’87)
  • Dr. Kevin Michaels, Global Managing Director – Aviation Consulting & Services, ICF International (BSE AERO ’85, MBA ’90)
  • David Munson, Robert J. Vlasic Dean of the College of Engineering at the University of Michigan,
  • Jaime Peraire, H.N. Slater Professor and Department Head, Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics, M.I.T.
  • Dr. Alton D. Romig, Vice President & Program Manager, Skunk Works Engineering & Advanced Systems, Lockheed Martin Aeronautics Company
  • Dr. John J. Tracy, Chief Technology Officer and Senior Vice President, Engineering of Operations & Technology, The Boeing Company
  • Simon  P. Worden, Center Director, NASA Ames Research Center

We look forward to seeing you in Ann Arbor!